An Introduction to Me and My Blog

Posted: February 6, 2014 in Miscellaneous
Tags: , , ,
PennAve1

Pennsylvania Avenue in downtown D.C.

As I begin this blog entitled “The DC Bike Blogger,” I want to confess up front that I am not a cyclist. I’m just a guy who rides a bike.  And I don’t have fast, lightweight, expensive road or racing bikes.  I bought most of my older, used bikes from Craigslist or eBay.  Also, I don’t wear brightly colored, skin tight cycling jerseys and spandex bike shorts.  I wear T-shirts and comfortable shorts during warmer weather, and layers of sweatpants and hoodies when it gets cold.

I’m also not a professional writer.  I’m just a guy who works for an agency of the Federal government in downtown Washington, D.C., where I have been employed for over twenty-six years.  I have a good job and enjoy what I do, but it involves working in a windowless, bunker-like office surrounded by eight-foot thick concrete walls and no physical connection to the world outside.

So in an attempt to offset the isolating and otherwise negative effects of spending long periods of time in such a work environment, a few years ago I started keeping a bicycle at the office and going out for rides on my lunch hour during the middle of the day.  I wasn’t an avid bike rider before then, but something just clicked when I started riding around D.C.  A few years and thousands of miles later, I am still riding almost every day.

Each day I bike throughout the city and explore the sites in and around our nation’s capitol.  I will then use this blog to share what I see, what I learn, and what I think about during my rides.  Whether or not you are from this area, I hope this blog will enable you to see D.C. in a way that you might not have otherwise.

Leave a Reply

