Sunrise with the Cherry Blossoms

Posted: March 24, 2016 in Events, Parks
Tags: , , , , ,

Blossoms01

Today was the day that the National Park Service predicted would when the cherry blossoms surrounding the Tidal Basin would reach their peak.  So I took my lunch break as soon as I got to work today so that I could ride down to the Tidal Basin to see the cherry blossoms in the light of the sun at sunrise.  When I got there I mixed in with the thousands of photographers and tourists who were lining the water’s edge, and took these photos.  I really enjoyed watching how the light changed as the sun rose in the sky.  This morning’s colorful sunrise was at 7:04 a.m., and as full of yellow and pink and violet.  But by 8:00 a.m. the light was completely different, and had changed bright light and clear, blue skies.  It’s difficult to believe the difference in the lighting for these photos took place in a matter of only an hour or so.  I like how the photos turned out today.  And I can only imagine how much better they would have been if I’d had a real camera instead of using just my cell phone.

Blossoms02     Blossoms03   Blossoms04

Blossoms05     Blossoms06     Blossoms07

Blossoms08     Blossoms10     Blossoms12

Blossoms13     Blossoms14     Blossoms15

Blossoms16     Blossoms17     Blossoms19

Blossoms20     Blossoms18     Blossoms22
[Click on the thumbnails above to view the full size photos]

Comments
  1. Yes, I was there too. It was crowded for sure, but it will be even more so this weekend. Good series of images.

    Like

Leave a Reply

