McKinley Technology High School Observation Tower

Posted: September 3, 2021 in Buildings
Tags: , ,
McKinley01

McKinley Technology High School Observation Tower

 
As I was riding somewhat aimlessly today in northeast D.C., I saw in the distance what looked to be a lighthouse.  I had never seen it before and didn’t know what it was.  So, naturally, it became my destination.  It turned out to be part of McKinley Technology High School, often referred to as McKinley Tech. It is located at 151 T Street in the Eckington neighborhood (MAP).  After looking into it later I learned that McKinley Tech is a public citywide 9th through 12th grade high school, and was originally an offshoot of Central High School, now known as Cardozo Senior High School.  McKinley Tech was originally founded in 1902, a year after William McKinley, the 25th president of the United States, was assassinated, and was named after him. The school has been located in the 100 block of T Street Northeast in Eckington since 1928.  
 
As I explored the lighthouse further it appeared to be adjacent to one of the smaller buildings on this high school’s sprawling campus.  If not for the windows, it looked like it could be a smokestack.  But it wasn’t.  My guess is that it’s an observation tower because the view toward downtown D.C. from the hilltop on which the school is located affords an incredible view.  In fact, because of its hilltop location, the school’s football field was a secret emergency landing area for President Lyndon Johnson in the event of a national emergency or attack on the United States.  But despite my best guess, I’m not sure why it was built or what the purpose of the towering structure was because I have been unable to find information about it.  I will keep looking. But in the meantime, if you have any information about it please let me know in the comment section below.  

Leave a comment